Raymond Abbott


A Chartered Accountant by profession, Raymond has worked in private equity and investment for over twenty-five years. As the former managing director of Alliance Trust Equity Partners he was responsible for strategic development. Previously he founded the UK venture investor Albany Ventures and prior to that was Director of Investment at British Linen Bank. Raymond also serves as Chairman of Foresight plc and Integrated Environmental Solutions Ltd. Raymond joined the Board in June 2013 and was elected Chairman in July 2017.

John (Jack) Ogston

Vice Chairman

Jack is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Bankers in Scotland and spent 36 years in management positions with Clydesdale Bank, latterly as Head of Corporate & Structured Finance in Scotland. He has significant board and lending experience and is currently Chairman of Vehicle Professionals Ltd and a non executive director of Constant Progress Ltd, Equator Capital Ltd and Toward Technology Ltd. Jack joined the Board in 2015 was elected Vice Chairman in July 2017. Jack chairs the Nomination and Renumeration Committee and is the Society's Senior Independent Director and Whistleblowing Champion. 

Margaret MacKay

Margaret began her career with HBOS and has over 36 years experience in  PLC, AIM and family owned businesses. Margaret has held Board level positions for the last 20 years and latterly was Managing Director, Scotland and Ireland Division, with Peel Ports. Margaret has a Masters Degree in Human Resource Management and is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development. She also has a Postgraduate Diploma in Marketing. Margaret joined the Board in 2017 and is currently also a Trustee of the John Mather Charitable Trust.

Karyn Lamont

Karyn is a chartered accountant and former audit partner at PwC. She has over 25 years of experience and provided audit and other services to a range of clients across the UK’s financial services sector including a number of banks and building societies. Her specialist knowledge includes financial reporting, audit and controls, risk management, regulatory compliance and governance. Karyn was appointed to the Board in May 2018 and chairs the Audit Committee. She is also a non executive director at the Scottish Investment Trust plc and the North American Income Trust plc.

Andrew Hastings

Andrew is a Chartered Banker, Fellow of the Institute of Bankers in Ireland, a Chartered Director, and a Certified Bank Director. He began a 30 year career in banking with RBS and was CEO and Country Manager of BNP Paribas Ireland before becoming CEO of Barclays Bank Ireland plc. Andrew is currently a Board Member of the Electricity Supply Board, the Irish State-owned energy business. He is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of Pepper Finance Corporation (Ireland) DAC and an Independent Non-Executive Director of Elavon Financial Services DAC.

Sheila Gunn

Sheila began her career as a lawyer, and was a partner at Shepherd & Wedderburn for 12 years. She moved into financial services on her appointment to Ignis Asset Management, and was a non-executive director of Airdrie Savings Bank. She has undertaken a range of other non-executive appointments - she is currently Vice Chair of Wheatley Group and Chair of Wheatley Solutions, a member of the Independent Governance Committees of both Phoenix Life and Standard Life, a member of the Accounts Commission, on the board of the Chartered Banker Institute, and on the Ethics Board of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

Paul Denton

Chief Executive Officer

Paul Denton was appointed Chief Executive Officer in June 2019. Paul has more than 25 years experience in the banking sector and was previously Managing Director of the UK’s largest funeral business, Co-op Funeralcare Operations, where he delivered transformational change across 1100 funeral homes. He began his career with the Royal Bank of Scotland, graduating to head of trading for retail banking at RBS/NatWest.

Neil Easson

Finance Director

Neil is a Chartered Accountant with over 20 years experience in the financial services sector, having held a range of senior finance positions in Lloyd’s Banking Group.  His role as Finance Director also includes responsibility for the Society’s Central Functions covering Mortgage Processing, IT, Property and Change. Neil joined the Society in January 2019 and was appointed to the Board in April 2020. Neil is Chair of the Asset and Liability Committee and Retail Credit Committee.

Contact Us

For new savings or mortgage enquiries, call us today on

0333 207 4007

Lines open 9-5 Mon to Fri (10-5 Wed). Calls may be recorded and/or monitored.

Existing Member Enquiries

To talk to us about an existing savings or mortgage account, contact your local office

Find your local office