Background image: Meet the Team
Powered by purpose

Meet the Team

Our Board

Our Board Members

Ian Wilson


Ian was appointed as Chairperson in November 2022.

"I’ve worked in the UK financial and investment sector for more than 40 years having held senior positions at a wealth of high street banks, challenger banks and fintech firms.  I was Chief Risk Officer at GE Money UK, Tesco Bank, Charter One and Monzo Bank however I have a broad range of experience across strategy development, commercial business management and change management.

I’m a Chartered Banker with an MBA from Edinburgh and an MSc in Marketing. I’m also a Fellow and former Vice President of the Institute of Bankers in Scotland and a Fellow of the Institute of Financial Services.”

Andrew Hastings

Vice Chairperson 

Chair of the Board Risk Committee 

Whistleblowing Champion 

Andrew was appointed to the Board in July 2019.

“I’m a Chartered Banker, Fellow of the Institute of Bankers in Ireland, a Chartered Director, and a Certified Bank Director. I started my 30-year career in banking with RBS and was CEO and Country Manager of BNP Paribas Ireland before becoming CEO of Barclays Bank Ireland plc.

I’m currently an Independent Non-Executive Director of Pepper Finance Corporation (Ireland) DAC and an Independent Non-Executive Director of Elavon Financial Services DAC.”

Sheila Gunn

Senior Independent Director 

Chair of the Remuneration Committee

Chair of the Nomination & Governance Committee

Sheila was appointed to the Board in November 2019.

“I began my career as a lawyer and was a partner at Shepherd & Wedderburn for 12 years. I moved into financial services when I joined Ignis Asset Management and was a Non-Executive Director of Airdrie Savings Bank.

I’ve taken on a range of other non-executive appointments, including non-executive director at PSF Capital (Scotland) GP Limited and I’m a member of the Accounts Commission." 

Karyn Lamont

Chair of the Audit Committee 

Karyn was appointed to the Board in May 2018.

“I’m a chartered accountant and former audit partner at PwC. I have over 25 years of experience and I’ve provided audit and other services to a range of clients across the UK’s financial services sector, including a number of banks and building societies.

My specialist knowledge includes financial reporting, audit and controls, risk management, regulatory compliance and governance.

I hold a number of Non-Executive Director roles and Audit Committee chair positions - current appointments are iomart Group plc, the Scottish American Investment Trust plc, the North American Income Trust plc and the Ediston Property Investment Company plc. Previous appointments included the Scottish Investment Trust plc."

Sean Gilchrist

Consumer Duty Champion 

Sean was appointed to the Board in June 2021.

"My career spans over 30 years in the financial services industry, with more than 20 years in digital. As well as my role at Scottish Building Society I also run Nomo a digital start-up bank serving customers from the GCC region in the Middle East.

Before that I was the Chief Digital Officer of the Co-operative Bank, also Lloyds and Barclays Banks leading, growing and transforming their digital services across their retail, wealth and corporate banking sectors. I am also an advisor to Hanger 75 a Californian based digital incubator."

Andrew Lee

Andrew was appointed to the Board in October 2022.

"I've been a Senior Board Executive in the Financial Services Industry for over 35 years having served as CEO, CFO, CSO in several Institutions. These have spanned Retail Banking, Corporate Banking, Commercial Banking, Asset Finance, Wholesale Funding and related businesses. The Mutual Sector and in particular Building Societies have a unique ability to positively impact people's lives by giving members value for money products and most importantly the ability to own their own home. The Society is uniquely positioned to play a key role in this.

Currently I'm a Non-Executive Board Member of The Scottish Building Society, St Andrew’s Healthcare Trust (UK’s Largest Mental Health Charity) and The Birmingham Assay Institution (UK Hallmarking)."

Rosemary Hilary

Rosemary was appointed to the Board in November 2022.

"I’m an accountant and risk professional and my entire career has been in financial services: largely banking and regulation. I started in banking at Girobank in the treasury team.  There followed a number of senior roles at the Bank of England and Financial Services Authority.  I then moved to TSB in 2013 to become the Chief Internal Auditor.

In addition to my role at the Scottish Building Society, I am also currently an Independent Non-Executive Director (‘INED’) of St James’s Place, Vitality Life and Health, and Willis. My previous INED roles include the Pension Protection Fund and the homelessness charity Shelter."


Paul Denton

Chief Executive Officer

Paul joined the Society in June 2019 was appointed to the Board in July 2019.

“I have over 30 years’ experience in financial services and I’m a Fellow of the Chartered Banker Institute. I began my career with the Royal Bank of Scotland holding various senior positions before moving to the Co-operative Bank as Director for Branch, Mortgages and Business Banking.

Before joining the Scottish Building Society, I was Managing Director, Operations of the UK’s largest funeral business, Co-op Funeralcare.”

Neil Easson

Finance Director

Neil joined the Society in January 2019 and was appointed to the Board in April 2020.

“I’m a Chartered Accountant with over 20 years’ experience in the financial services sector. Before joining the Scottish, I held a range of senior finance positions in Lloyd’s Banking Group.

My role as Finance Director also includes responsibility for the Society’s Retail Credit and Product Management teams.  I also chair Asset & Liability Committee and Retail Credit Committee.”